Mid-Columbia Saltwater Aquarium Club

September 23, 2017, 07:14:58 am
News: Contact Nacheetah if you are in the club and would like to host a meeting.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: cycling questions - brown algae everywhere  (Read 5167 times)

Offline VickiG

• Damselfish

cycling questions - brown algae everywhere
« on: July 18, 2006, 10:15:10 am »
Ok, I figured it was about time someone used this part of the forum again, even thought I don't really have crabs (yet! - Reeftopia order coming tomorrow - thanks Dashia!).  I have some questions for you experienced reefers.  We are cycling our tank, as you know.  Have about 2/3 of our live rock now in for two weeks.  Will be getting more soon, but in the meantime, we are definitely getting ugly brown algae on the rocks and the sides of the tank.  It is now 'flowing like wheat in the wind' in the water current, maybe 1/2 inch long.   :shock:  Told you it was ugly.  Our water parameters, tested Sunday:  Temp 78, pH 8.2, ORP, 280, Alk 3.6, Ca 400, SG 1.024, D.O. 6.5, NO2 .15, NO3 4.0, NH3 .25.  So you can see our Nitrate is coming up a bit and a little ammonia.  The algae showed up after our last water tests and we shut our lights off but have not re-tested the water, which I intend to do this evening.  So...are we "cycling" yet at this point?  Other than the janitor order coming tomorrow, do we need to do anything about the algae?  At what point would we need to do a water change and how much?  We are adding a couple gallons of top-off every day, but no water changes yet.  We have a small (about 4 gal) 'fuge going with just some refugium sediment (Kent Marine - not the Miracle Mud) and a few LR rubble rocks - should we add any macro algae yet to the 'fuge?  Chaeto perhaps?  Also, UVS has been off - should we turn it on yet?  When we get the rest of our live rock, I imagine these parameters will all change.   The temp is holding between 78 and 78.5 now with the new chiller, pH is staying right around 8.2, ORP is up