Author Topic: New Reefer with an LFS question  (Read 2656 times)

Offline halcyonism

• Goby
New Reefer with an LFS question
« on: March 03, 2011, 11:16:26 AM »
Good morning, all.

First of all, I should probably introduce myself as this is my first post on the site.  My name is Brian and I currently reside in the Yakima area.  I am new to reefing and am getting ready to start the stocking process of my 120 which has been up and running for a little over three months now.  Currently the only inhabitants in the tank are snails, hermits and some GSP.

As you may know, Yakima has only has two options when it comes to purchasing marine life locally; one LFS and a Petco.  The LFS rarely receives marine shipments and the Petco is, well... Petco.  This in turn leads me to my comment / question.  A couple weeks ago my wife and I made a trip down your way and visited Aqua Tropics and were slightly disappointed in their stock.  Is this typical for the store or did we just catch them on a bad day?  Any recommendations on where to purchase livestock semi-locally?  I realize there is always the option of ordering from online retailers, but I would much rather support local business if possible... and not have to pay $40 in shipping.  ;)

Lastly, posts are always better with pictures, so I will leave with a gratuitous shot of my empty tank.

Thanks for your time,

Brian

Offline Ed

• working together to make this hobby enjoyable for all...
  • MCSAC Board of Directors
  • Trigger
  • Working as one to promote anyone willing to learn
Re: New Reefer with an LFS question
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 11:28:51 AM »
Hello Brian,
    Welcome.   I like the LEDs.    You also have your rock stacked really good for flow.   A few caves for fish to hide.

Your best best is to learn when they get shipments in from LFS.   Sometimes stores are picked clean pretty quick.   

come over and see..:)

Offline jerryB

• MidColumbia Saltwater Aquarium Club Member
  • Goby